60 多年来,RAME-HART 一直致力于 疫苗行业的首选设备供应商。

我们为我们所拥有的感到自豪 在过去 60 年中取得的成就,我们请已经在船上工作超过 44 年的 Ken Christiansen 分享一些从 RAME-HART 成立至今的轶事。

这一切是如何开始的?

 

RAME-HART 于 1961 年 XNUMX 月由创始人兼总裁 Ralph Nussbaum 在新泽西州成立; 拉尔夫知道他想要几个合伙人,于是邀请了他的两个好朋友加入公司,并引进了他在纽瓦克 RCA 工作的约翰赫兹和一个亲密的私人朋友乔治迈耶。 该公司最初是一家机械车间,他们的客户群是当地企业,如 Mennen、M&M Mars 和 Western Electric,为各种机器制造更换机器零件、夹具和小组件,交货时间长。   

随着公司的发展,拉尔夫成立了一个工程部门,为所有类型的行业设计专用机器; 但主要集中领域是电信和制药。 该公司为许多西方电气发明开发了生产机器,如回流焊机、水下通信固定设备、光纤抛光安装机和许多其他用于激光通信的设备。 Western Electric 后来成为贝尔实验室,现在更广为人知的是 AT&T。

随着 RAME-HART 的业务随着新泽西当地客户的不断发展,他们以优质和坚固的机器而闻名。

RAME-HART这个名字来源于三个合作伙伴的名字:

RA

对于拉尔夫·努斯鲍姆

ME

对于乔治·迈耶

HART

对于在德国被称为 Hartz 的 John Hertz,John 总是说他是公司的核心。

新管理

肯·克里斯蒂安森和赫伯·波尔

肯·克里斯蒂安森和赫伯·波尔

 

我于 1977 年开始在 RAME-HART 工作,1975 年从美国海军退役后,晚上在莫里斯郡学院继续我的大学教育。我主修工商管理,拉尔夫、约翰和乔治为我提供了一个职位采购代理; 但我几乎不知道我会在这家小公司里戴很多帽子。 我在许多领域获得了大量的实践经验,例如工程、机加工车间、机器设计、销售和客户支持。

1989 年,RAME-HART 的原始所有者决定要退休,拉尔夫·努斯鲍姆 (Ralph Nussbaum) 要求一群员工购买该公司。 该小组包括 Herb Pohl、Ken Christiansen、Sam Rich、Don Carlin 和 Rolf Pfiel。 我们一致同意共同合作,收购 RAME-HART 的资产,新的管理团队诞生了。 花了几年时间才让大家一起工作,互相信任,因为当时是一大批对公司应该如何发展有着不同想法的合作伙伴。 Herb Pohl 是该集团的长老,他决定提前退休,合伙人集体购买了他的股票,我于 1993 年被选为 RAME-HART 的新总裁。

在中国市场取得成功

在 90 年代,经济衰退,我们的设计工程、机器制造和加工车间制造下降,因为我们的主要客户离岸生产他们的产品。 所以,我向我的合作伙伴建议,我们必须专注于我们自己的产品,比如我们的打蛋机、真空加塞设备和我们的测角仪业务,而不是依赖其他行业。

我们投资获得了所有产品线的宣传手册,转换了制造区域,并带来了新的 CNC 设备来生产加工零件。 此后不久,一位名叫 Bryan Zhou 的中国人联系了我,他住在马里兰州,但代表一家中国公司。 他告诉我中国需要我们的卵子接种和收获机,我可以和他一起去中国旅行,在北京会见他的伙伴吗? 我的合伙人不愿意我去,因为中国抄袭西方技术的名声是众所周知的; 我决定联系纽约的美国商务部,一位代表出来见我; 他基本上说在中国做生意是可能的,但你需要找到一个你可以信任的代理。 我和布莱恩安排好了去北京会见他的搭档吉曙光先生。 有一次在北京,我有一种很好的感觉,我在中国找到了合适的合作伙伴,主要是因为我对 Bryan Zhou 感觉很好。

一旦我们与我们的中国代理商签订了代理协议,我们的蛋机业务就起飞了。 我们的销售年数创历史新高,前两年在中国主要是半自动机器,然后转向全自动机器。

进入流感疫苗业务

创始人传给我一个关于 RAME-HART 如何进入流感疫苗业务的故事。 让我与你分享:

 

当他们的一位当地客户决定从新泽西州莫里斯县搬到宾夕法尼亚州斯威夫特沃特时,他在国家药物公司的维护部门工作,该公司生产季节性流感疫苗。 早在 70 年代的过程都是手动的,他们将有 50 多名男性和女性手动用病毒种子接种胚胎鸡蛋,然后在潜伏期后,从每个单独的鸡蛋中手动去盖和收集异质液用手。 这是一个非常乏味和耗时的过程。

嗯,正如故事所说,RAME-HART 的这位老朋友参与了尝试自动化季节性流感疫苗的手动生产,并想到 RAME-HART 为上游流程设计自动化机器并消除所有手动步骤,而不是值得一提的是,所有的生物负载都是由所有人带入洁净室生产区的。

我还想提一下,流感的产生是季节性的,而且只有六个月的生产时间,所以所有的人只能工作六个月,并在一年中剩下的时间里失业。 每个季节他们都会尝试带回有经验的员工; 但这也非常困难,因为人们在其他行业找到了其他工作,可以为他们提供更好、更安全的工作,因此流感疫苗公司必须每六个月对员工进行一次再培训,这同样非常耗时且成本高昂。 RAME-HART 接受了该项目,并为 National Drug 提供了第一台全自动接种和收获机,该公司后来成为康诺特实验室,之后被赛诺菲巴斯德收购。

当全自动接种和收获设备的消息传到流感行业时,RAME-HART 成为全球知名品牌,并开始在全球销售机器。

成为一部分 SANOVO 集团公司

新业主首次参观 RAME-HART。 在左边的照片上; Sam Rich、Darren D'Onofrio、Butch Rich、Don Carlin、Thor Stadil、Søren Ring 和 Ken Christiansen。

新业主首次参观 RAME-HART。 在左边的照片上; Sam Rich、Darren D'Onofrio、Butch Rich、Don Carlin、Thor Stadil、Søren Ring 和 Ken Christiansen。

 

2005 年,我们的一个鸡蛋机竞争对手 Embrex 联系了我; Embrex 的副总裁是一个叫 David Baines 的人,他是一位非常专业的英国人。 他一直在与我在鸡蛋行业的一个好朋友谈论可能与 RAME-HART 进行收购或合资。 Embrex 有一个自动接种器在肉鸡行业销售,并正在进入疫苗制造行业。 他们正在成为我们的激烈竞争对手。 大卫认为两家公司联手很合适,因为他们除了接种机没有其他设备,而 RAME-HART 有全自动收割机和半自动机器,在市场上享有很高的声誉. 我和我的合作伙伴决定继续前进,与我们的律师进行可行性审查,并与 Embrex 签署了保密协议。 几个月后,大卫贝恩斯从英国飞来和我共进晚餐。 他对无法说服 Embrex 董事会与我们进行投资交易感到有些失望。 他说 Embrex 的时机不合适,他们正在北卡罗来纳州建立家禽疫苗设施,因此当时他们无法对 RAME-HART 做任何事情。

David Baines 然后问我是否有兴趣与一家名为 SANOVO 位于丹麦欧登塞的技术集团。 我告诉大卫,我并不积极寻求出售公司,但我有兴趣将业务提升到一个新的水平。 然后,他安排让首席执行官索伦·林(Soren Ring) SANOVO TECHNOLOGY GROUP,到时候联系我。 几周后,我受邀来到丹麦与他和托尔·斯塔迪尔会面。 我们现在都知道那次会议之后发生了什么。 2006年RAME-HART成为会员 SANOVO 技术组。

RAME-HART 全自动托盘清洗机

RAME-HART 全自动托盘清洗机

既然我们成为了其中的一部分 SANOVO TECHNOLOGY GROUP,它在工程支持、销售和营销以及财务支持方面为 RAME-HART 提供了更多资源。 SANOVO 扩大我们的产品线说,一旦我们的接种器和收割机使市场饱和,我们还能卖什么? 所以,我建议我们研究一下自动托盘清洗,它 SANOVO 已经有了经验。 2008 年,我们为疫苗行业制造了第一台全自动托盘清洗机,并将其出售给台湾的 ADImmune。 我们添加到我们产品线的另一台设备是自动手推车卸载机和重新装载机。

加入后的前六年 SANOVO TECHNOLOGY GROUP 的业务每年增长约 30%。 

是否会在 RAME-HART 设备上处理 COVID-19 疫苗?

迈向 19 年 2020 月开始的当前 COVID-XNUMX 时代。

我有一些来自墨西哥和俄罗斯的访客在新泽西访问我们,我们在那里对一些自动接种器和收割机进行了 FAT。 他们都到达了纽瓦克机场,当我们开车去 RAME-HART 时,我问他们是否打算用胚胎鸡蛋制作 COVID-19 疫苗。 他们的回答是“不,科学证明 Covid-19 病毒不会在鸡蛋中生长”。 这个答案真的让我感到惊讶,我无法接受这个答案!

几天后,我打电话给我的老朋友兼开发基于鸡蛋的疫苗的专家 Richard Hjorth 博士。 当我向理查德提出问题时,为什么不能用胚胎鸡蛋制造 COVID-19? 他解释说,他看到了 CDC 的一份报告,其中 Covid-19 病毒在鸡蛋中不能很好地生长,这就是公司冒险进入细胞的原因 Covid-19 疫苗。 理查德然后想了几秒钟,说他不明白为什么研究人员不能想出另一种方法。 然后他说“你可以在鸡蛋里种植任何东西。 您所需要的只是一个优秀的病毒学家来完成这项工作“当时我说,”我们开始做吧“。

从那时起,理查德说他会联系纽约市的一家医疗中心,他可能能够说服他们接受这个项目。 他们同意了,并在一周内制造了一种鸡病毒,该病毒在其表面显示出刺突蛋白。 这种病毒在鸡蛋中生长良好,完全适应流感疫苗的生产过程。 这使低收入和中等收入国家能够使用其现有的流感病毒疫苗工厂生产自己的 COVID-19 疫苗。

该疫苗目前正在越南和泰国进行 1 期临床试验,不久将在巴西进行。 它最近在 纽约时报 [5 月 XNUMX 日]. 一些国家现在正在扩大其鸡蛋处理厂,其他制造商也加入了这一努力。 这项技术的美妙之处在于,NDV 可用于表达许多不同病毒和细菌的蛋白质,以制造未来在鸡蛋中生长的疫苗。

所以,虽然疫苗蛋技术很老,但它非常高效、经济且安全,因为像 RAME-HART 制造的设备这样的自动化设备。

 

 

RAME-HART 产品范围

自动接种

30,000 - 33,000 个鸡蛋/小时

快速、精确和可靠的鸡蛋接种可加速疫苗上市。

查看
自动收割

10,000 - 20,000 个鸡蛋/小时

先进的鸡蛋收获技术提高了产量。

查看
手推车装载机和卸载机

Trolley Unloader 使用抹刀设计自动将托盘从手推车转移到传送带。

查看
自动托盘清洗系统

高达 1,000 个托盘/小时

自动托盘清洗机可快速清洗、消毒、最终漂洗和干燥托盘

查看
半自动鸡蛋收割机

该系统是自动收割机的一部分,适用于较小的生产设施。 适用于中小型生产环境。

查看

For more than 60 years RAME-HART has been the preferred supplier of equipment to the vaccine industry.

We are proud of what we have achieved during the last 60 years and we have asked Ken Christiansen, who has been on board for over 44 years, to share some anecdotes from the foundation of RAME-HART up till today.

How did it all start?

 

RAME-HART was incorporated in New Jersey in June 1961 by Founder and President Ralph Nussbaum; Ralph knew that he wanted to have a couple of partners and asked two of his close friends to join the company and brought in John Hertz who he worked with at RCA in Newark and George Meyer a close personal friend. The company started out as a machine shop and their customer base was local businesses like Mennen, M&M Mars and Western Electric making replacement machine parts, fixturing and small assemblies for all kinds of machines with long lead times.   

As the company grew, Ralph started an engineering department to design special purpose machines for all types of industries; but the main area of concentration was in Telecommunications and Pharmaceuticals. The company developed production machines for many of Western Electrics inventions like Re-Flow Soldering machines, Under Water Communication Fixturing Equipment, Fiber Polishing Installation Machines and many other pieces of equipment used for Laser Communication. Western Electric later became Bell Laboratories and now is better known as AT&T.

As RAME-HART’s business continued to grow with local New Jersey customers, they developed a reputation for quality and robust machines.

The name RAME-HART was derived from the three partners names:

RA

For Ralph Nussbaum

ME

For George Meyer

HART

For John Hertz which in Germany was pronounced Hartz, John would always say that he was the Heart of the company.

New Management

Ken Christiansen & Herb Pohl

Ken Christiansen & Herb Pohl

 

I started working for RAME-HART in 1977 and was continuing my college education in the evenings at County College of Morris after being discharged from the US Navy in 1975. I was majoring in Business Administration and Ralph, John and George offered me a position as a Purchasing Agent; but little did I know that I would wear many hats in this small company. I gained a lot of hands-on experience in many areas, like engineering, machine shop, machine design, sales and customer support.

In 1989 the original owners of RAME-HART had decided they wanted to retire, and Ralph Nussbaum asked a group of employees to buy the company. The group included Herb Pohl, Ken Christiansen, Sam Rich, Don Carlin and Rolf Pfiel. We all agreed that we would work together and buy the assets of RAME-HART and the new management team was born. It took a few years to get everyone to work together and trust each other, because it was a large number of partners with different ideas on how the company should grow forward. Herb Pohl was the elder of the group and he decided he wanted to retire early and the partners collectively bought his shares of stock and I was voted in as the new president of RAME-HART in 1993.

Success on the Chinese market

During the 90’s, the economy was declining and our design engineering, machine building and job shop manufacturing had dropped off, due to our major customers were going off shore to have their products made. So, I recommended to my partners that we would have to focus on our own products, like our Egg Machines, Vacuum Stoppering Equipment and our Goniometer Instrument business instead of being dependent on other industries.

We invested in getting promotional brochures on all our product lines, converted the manufacturing area, and brought new CNC equipment for production of machined parts. Shortly thereafter, I was contacted by a Chinese man by the name of Bryan Zhou who lived in Maryland but was representing a company in China. He told me that our Egg Inoculating and Harvesting machines were needed in China and would it be possible for me to travel to China with him and meet his partner in Beijing. My partners were reluctant for me to go because China’s reputation of copying Western Technology was well known; I decided to contact the US Commerce Department in NYC and a representative came out to see me; he basically said to do business in China was possible, but you will need to find an agent you can trust. I made the arrangements with Bryan to go to Beijing and meet with his partner Mr. Gi Shuguang. Once in Beijing I had a good feeling that I found the right partners in China, mainly because I felt good about Bryan Zhou.

Once we signed an agent agreement with our Chinese agent, our Egg Machine business took off. We had record years for sales, and it was mostly Semi-Automatic machines for the first two years in China and then moved into Fully Automatic Machines.

Entering the Flu Vaccine Business

There was a story handed down to me by the founding fathers on how RAME-HART got into the Flu Vaccine Business. Let me share it with you:

 

It started when one of their local customers decided to move out of Morris County NJ  to Swiftwater Pennsylvania where he worked in the maintenance department at National Drug Corporation, which produced Seasonal Influenza Vaccine. The process back in the 70’s was all manual, where they would have 50 plus men and women manually Inoculating Embryonated Chicken Eggs with a virus seed and then, after an incubation period, manually de-capping and harvesting the Allotonic Fluids from each individual egg all by hand. This was a very tedious and time-consuming process.

Well, as the story goes, this old friend of RAME-HART was involved in trying to automate the manual production of seasonal influenza vaccine and thought of RAME-HART to design automatic machines for the upstream process and eliminate all the manual steps and, not to mention, all the bioburdens brought into the clean room production area by all the people.

I also want to mention that flu production was seasonal and only six months production time, so all the people would only be employed for six months and out of work for the remainder of the year. Every season they would try to bring back the experienced employees; but it was also very difficult as people found other employment in other industries that gave them better, secure jobs, so flu vaccine companies would have to retrain people every six-month season, which again is very time consuming and expensive. RAME-HART took on the project and delivered the first ever fully automatic Inoculating and Harvesting Machines to National Drug, which later became Connaught Laboratories and after that was acquired by Sanofi Pasteur.

When the news about fully automatic Inoculating and Harvesting equipment got out to the Influenza Industry, RAME-HART became a global name and started selling machines all around the world.

Becoming part of the SANOVO group of companies

The new owners visiting RAME-HART for the first time. On the photo from the left; Sam Rich, Darren D’Onofrio, Butch Rich, Don Carlin, Thor Stadil, Søren Ring and Ken Christiansen.

The new owners visiting RAME-HART for the first time. On the photo from the left; Sam Rich, Darren D’Onofrio, Butch Rich, Don Carlin, Thor Stadil, Søren Ring and Ken Christiansen.

 

In 2005 I was contacted by one of our Egg Machine Competitors Embrex; the vice president of Embrex was a guy named David Baines, an Englishman and very professional type of guy. He had been talking with a good friend of mine in the Egg Industry of a possible acquisition or joint venture with RAME-HART. Embrex had an Automatic Inoculator marketed in the Broiler Chicken Industry and was moving into the Vaccine Manufacturing Industry. They were becoming a fierce competitor of ours. David thought there was a good fit for the two companies to join forces, because they didn’t have any other equipment other than an inoculator, whereas RAME-HART had the Fully Automatic Harvester and Semi-Automatic Machines and a good reputation in the market. My partners and I decided to move forward and do a feasibility review with our attorney and signed a confidentiality agreement with Embrex. It took a few months and David Baines flew over from the UK to have dinner with me. He was a little disappointed that he could not convince the Embrex Board of Directors to invest in a deal with us. He said the timing was not right for Embrex and that they were building a poultry vaccine facility in North Carolina, so they were not in position to do anything with RAME-HART at that time.

David Baines then asked me if I’d be interested in discussing a business opportunity with a company called SANOVO TECHNOLOGY GROUP in Odense Denmark. I told David that I was not actively looking to sell the company, but I was interested in taking the business to the next level. He then made arrangements to have Soren Ring, the CEO of SANOVO TECHNOLOGY GROUP, at that time, contact me. Some weeks later, I was invited to come to Denmark and meet with him and Thor Stadil. We all know now what happened after that meeting. In 2006 RAME-HART became a member of SANOVO TECHNOLOGY GROUP.

RAME-HART Fully Automatic Tray Washer

RAME-HART Fully Automatic Tray Washer

Now that we became part of SANOVO TECHNOLOGY GROUP, it gave RAME-HART more resources with engineering support, sales and marketing and financial support. SANOVO to expand our product line saying that once we saturate the market with our Inoculators and Harvesters what else can we sell? So, I suggested that we look into Automatic Tray Washing, which SANOVO already had experience with. In 2008 we built our first Fully Automatic Tray Washer for the Vaccine Industry and sold it to ADImmune in Taiwan. Another piece of equipment that we added to our product line was Automatic Trolley Un-Loader and Re-Loaders.

In the first six years after joining SANOVO TECHNOLOGY GROUP we were able to grow the business by approximately 30% each year. 

Will COVID-19 Vaccines be processed at RAME-HART equipment?

Moving forward to the present era of COVID-19 that started in February 2020.

I had some visitors from Mexico and Russia visiting us in New Jersey where we were performing an FAT on some Automatic Inoculators and Harvesters. They both arrived at Newark Airport and when we were driving to RAME-HART, I asked if they were going to be making a COVID-19 Vaccine in Embryonated Chicken Eggs. They came back with an answer of “No, it’s been scientifically proven that the COVID-19 virus will not grow in Eggs”. This answer really surprised me and I just could not accept that answer!

A couple days later, I called my long-time friend and guru in the development of egg-based vaccines, Dr. Richard Hjorth. When I raised the question to Richard of, why can’t COVID-19 be made in Embryonic Chicken Eggs? He explained that he had seen a report from the CDC where the COVID-19 virus didn’t grow well in eggs and that’s why companies ventured into cells for COVID-19 vaccines. Richard then thought about it for a few seconds and said that he didn’t understand why the researchers couldn’t come up with another approach. He then said “You can grow anything in eggs. All you need is a good virologist to do the work" That’s when I said, “LET’S DO IT”.

From that point, Richard said that he would contact a Medical Center in NYC and that he might be able to convince them to take on this project. They agreed, and within a week they made a chicken virus that displayed a spike protein on it’s surface. This virus grew well in eggs and was completely adaptable to the influenza vaccine manufacturing process. This enabled low and middle income countries to use their existing influenza virus vaccine plants to make their own COVID-19 vaccines.

The vaccine is now in phase 1 clinical trials in Vietnam and Thailand and soon in Brazil. It was recently described in the New York Times [April 5]. Some of the countries are now expanding their egg-handling plants and other manufacturers are joining the effort. The beauty of this technology is that NDV can be used to express the proteins of many different viruses and bacteria to make future vaccines that grow in eggs.

So, while the vaccine egg technology is old, it is very efficient, cost-effective and safe because of automated equipment like the equipment made by RAME-HART.

 

 

The product range of RAME-HART

Automatic Inoculation

30,000 - 33,000 eggs/hour

Fast, precise and reliable egg inoculation expedite vaccines to market.

View
Automatic Harvesting

10,000 - 20,000 eggs/hour

Advanced egg harvesting technologies boost yields.

View
Trolley Loader & Unloader

The Trolley Unloader uses a spatula design to automatically transfer trays from the trolley to a conveyor.

View
Automatic Tray Washing System

Up to 1,000 trays/hour

The Automatic Tray Washer washes, sanitizes, final rinses, and dries trays at a rapid pace

View
Semi Automatic Egg Harvester

This system is a section of the Automatic Harvester machine and works with smaller production facilities. For small- to medium-size production environments.

View